Frequently Asked Questions
Call 443-552-7821 for assistance.
How long is the waiting period from registration to being able to purchase medical cannabis?
After the provider has examined the patient and the patient’s records, the provider may issue the patient a certification immediately.
Once I am registered, where can I purchase medical cannabis?
A Maryland patient can only obtain legal medical cannabis from a Maryland-licensed dispensary. Once you’ve received your patient registration card, visit https://www.canmd.org/locate-a-dispensary/ to find a dispensary.
Do I have to inform my workplace of my registration?
There is no legal requirement to inform your workplace of a new prescription. However, Maryland law does not prevent an employer from testing for use of cannabis (for any reason) or taking action against an employee who tests positive for use of cannabis (for any reason).
What is required to register?
You will need an electronic copy of US government-issued ID (front and back), proof of having a Maryland address, and an electronic copy of a clear photograph taken within the last six (6) months.
Will my health insurance cover medical marijuana?
The answer to this is generally no.
Who is able to obtain cannabis?
Any Maryland resident who is over 18 and has a provider who recommends medical cannabis as a treatment for a qualifying medical condition is eligible to obtain cannabis once registered.
Are any fees involved with registering?
Patients pay $50 at time of registration for an ID card.
Who can I reach out to about registration questions?
CANMD operates a helpline from 8 a.m.-12 a.m., Monday-Saturday. Please call us at (443) 552-7821 for guidance and assistance.
Does getting a license go on any public records or is it confidential?
Decisions made between you and your doctor are private and confidential.
How old do I have to be to register for my card?
Registrants must be at least 18 years of age. If under 18, the consent of a caregiver or legal guardian is mandatory.
What doctors can I see to prescribe medical cannabis?
You may obtain a prescription for medical cannabis from a registered cannabis provider. Providers can be found at https://www.canmd.org/find-a-doctor/
What if I am receiving treatment in Maryland, but I don’t live in Maryland?
Non-Maryland residents qualify for registration if the individual is physically in the state and admitted to a Joint Commission accredited medical facility, or will be dispensed medical cannabis at the medical facility during an inpatient stay.
What conditions qualify me for registration?
To participate in the Maryland medical cannabis program, you must be diagnosed with one of the following conditions: cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), or another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective.